Our Services: Driver's Licence

For your convenience, we have provided a brief description of the basic types of driver's licences available to you in the state of LA. For detailed official information, please refer to your local Department/Registry of Motor Vehicles.

Types of Driver's Licenses

The requirements for obtaining a driver's licence, as well as certain traffic laws, vary from state to state, but a licence from LOUISIANA allows you to operate a motor vehicle anywhere in the US. Driver's licences are divided into five distinct classes:


  • Class E - this is the normal passenger vehicle permit. In LA, that is defined as "any single passenger vehicle not over 10,001 lbs.
  • Class D - permits the operation of any single vehicle used in commerce having a gross weight rating of 10,001 pounds or more but less than 26,001 pounds or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight rating, and not utilized for the transportation of hazardour materials. 
  • Class C
  • Class B
  • Class A


We provide courses and training programs for Class E and D. Contact us for more information and sign up today!

How to Find Us




   P C N O DRIVING                  SCHOOL            NEW ORLEANS EAST




Phone: 504.301.3900







Phone: 504.340.1500


Office Hours: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm, Monday thru Saturday.                                                       Our 14 hr. class time 10am-4:30pm, 38 hr. class time 9am-5:00pm

Items to Bring to the                 Office of Motor Vehicles to obtain a Temporary Instruction Permit for Driver’s Education:                                                            Minor Students (14 years to 17 years old)                               Original or State Certified Birth Certificate (no photocopies) Social Security Card                student must at least in the 8th grade Original or Court Certified Custody Papers (if there are any)                           Legal Custodial/Domiciliary Parent/Guardian with their Driver’s License or State ID Card                                                        Adult Students (18 years old and older)                                        Original or State Certified Birth Certificate (no photocopies) Social Security Card              Proof of residence (Two proof of residences if applying for a Real ID)                                                                                                                *Note: If an adult has a valid Louisiana State ID already issued and their Social Security Number is in OMV’s system, then only the ID and Proof of Residency is needed.                  Cost of Temporary Instruction Permit is $32.25 with a possible service fee up to $6.00.          Forms of payment are Cash, Credit/Debit Card, Money Order, and Check (check number must be over 1500 to be accepted).  Convenience fees apply for Credit/Debit Cards and Checks.                                                        Student documents required for class enrollment at P C N O Driving School for driver’s education or pre-licensing classes:                                                                                              Minors: under age 18 Louisiana Temporary Instruction Permit Original Birth Certificate                     Legal Custodial/Domiciliary Parent/Guardian Driver’s License or ID card – Legal Parent or Guardian must complete the enrollment forms and sign documents at the school. Original or Court Certified Custody Papers (if there are any)                                                    Adults: 18 and older Louisiana Temporary Instruction Permit